The Harbour Wall EP

by Rough Fields

supported by
  • Cassette

    Every tape is lovingly recorded, printed and assembled by hand in the Bomb Shop factory, and includes original artwork and images by Ambrosia(@) singer and photographer Sarah Faraday. Cassettes are wrapped in blue paper, tied with twine, parcel tagged and hand-numbered. Each one is 100% unique, and there will only ever be 100 of them. And the digital is free with every cassette. What's not to like?

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Harbour Wall EP via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 1 day
    edition of 100 

     £7 GBP


  • Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

     £4 GBP




Rough Fields' third release for Bomb Shop is a micro-edition of five spellbinding lo-fi electronic folk songs. Following the ecstatic noise of "You As You" ("Expansive, evocative and serenely interesting", Chew The Fat) and the atmospheric pop of "Watery Fable" ("Outstanding experimental, genre-bending music", Blind Fun) this collection of new material is both accessible and out there, experimental and readily enjoyable.

"The Harbour Wall" continues the found-sound theme of its predecessors (though the cardboard box kick drum is replaced on this occasion by a controlled two-litre pop bottle explosion), but layers the syncopated sound sources into a moody, atmospheric grower. "Behave" is a short but sweet multi-layered nylon string guitar study with obsessive-compulsive vocals. On the other side, the cinematic desert music of "Edge of the Firelight" gives way to Rough Fields' already much acclaimed flagship track "Manila", released on physical and download formats for the first time here.

"The Harbour Wall" is released on limited, hand-made cassette and digital, featuring artwork by photographer Sarah Faraday. Support so far from Gilles Peterson (BBC Radio 1), Nick Luscombe (Late Junction, BBC Radio 3), Gideon Coe (BBC 6 Music), Radio Nova, Dom Servini and SOAS; coverage in Echoes, Proper Songs, Newdust, Blind Fun, DJ Mag, Foxy Digitalis, Visitation Rites, Meme and plenty more.


released 14 November 2011



all rights reserved


feeds for this album, this artist